Terrifying French Children’s Books

I have to thank British author Jenny Colgan for this post.  Her blog about Terrifying French Children’s Books needs to be shared.  Here is link to the Guardian’s report on this topic: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/gallery/2012/may/30/terrifying-french-childrens-books-in-pictures?CMP=twt_gu

If only I had had a chance to read these books as a child, how much better I might have turned out!  I had only the desperate loneliness and mistreatment of The Little Princess to revel in.  I am going to order a few of these and read them now. (Thank goodness for my French classes!  Merci Madam DuBois et Madam Watts!)

Image

One thought on “Terrifying French Children’s Books

  1. Reblogged this on bookbird and commented:
    I just had to reblog this. It is sheer reading gold. French books for children appear to be about as terrifying as Victorian books for children, just without the latent sexism and moral stuffiness. They’re so creepy it makes me wonder if France has a higher proportion of psychopaths per head of the population than the rest of the world. If so, these books would TOTALLY explain why.

Leave a Reply

